0800 693 323







Excellence in Foster Care Awards

The Excellence in Foster Care Awards recognise the extraordinary efforts of caregivers.

Each year 10 amazing caregivers or couples are celebrated for the astonishing work they do. Caring Families Aotearoa has been holding the Excellence in Foster Care Awards annually since 2007.

Since 2022, Barnardos, Open Home Foundation, and Grandparents Raising Grandchildren have supported us as corporate sponsors, and in 2024 we welcomed Kia Puāwai as a new sponsor.

Nominations for the 2025 Excellence in Foster Care Awards will open in July 2024.

Our 2024 Recipients

We received an overwhelming number of extraordinary nominatons for the 2024 Excellence in Foster Care Awards, which made a difficult task for our selection panel. As a result, we selected 13 incredible solo caregivers/caregiving couples to receive an award this year.

Our 2024 Recipients

  • Adele Adams
  • Angela Campion
  • Lois and Dennis Dillon
  • Gemma Duffy
  • Andrea and John Faulks
  • Maxine and Chakani Hemi, and Phoenix Fiu-Poufa
  • Margaret and Phillip Hemopo
  • Rosemary and Wayne Hullen
  • Verna and George Kite
  • Ngaire Moir
  • Lee and John Roberts
  • Te Ahuru Ruri
  • Matiaha Garry Reweti Waata and Stacia Wyn Waata

Read their Stories

From one couple who have been caring for over 50 years, to others who have taken on and fiercly advocated for children with severe disabilities, each of our 2024 recipients had a unique, heartwarming, and inspiring story to share. To read the stories of this year’s recipients, click the button below.

Who can be nominated?

If you know an extraordinary caregiver who goes above and beyond for their tamariki and rangatahi, please consider nominating them for next year’s awards.

It’s easy to be eligible – your nominee can be anyone providing a home to a child not born to them (excluding step-parents). This includes whānau and kin caregivers, Grandparents raising grandchildren, and people with permanent care of a child or young person. The nominee does not need to have a supporting agency, e.g. Open Home Foundation, Oranga Tamariki.

We know that there are so many caregivers out there who deserve this recognition, with your help we can make this happen. 

When do nominations open?

Nominations for the 2025 Excellence in Foster Care Awards will open in July 2024.

Who can make a nomination?

Anyone can nominate a caregiver or caregiving couple for an award. This includes all Social Workers, fellow caregivers, Teachers, Support Workers, and people from the community. Nominators must be people who are positively and strongly involved in the caregiver’s life.

Our Partners

Kia Puāwai logo agency

How to submit a nomination?

  1. Fill out the nomination form (you can either download and print the form or fill it in electronically).
  2. Have the caregiver you are nominating sign the form.
  3. Gather supporting evidence and save this into a single file.
  4. Send your completed nomination and supporting evidence by email.

Tips for a great nomination

Your nomination is an opportunity to introduce your chosen caregiver or caregiving couple and explain who they are, what their caregiving journey has been about, and what makes them stand out.

Be creative and include supporting evidence that will make your caregiver(s) really stand out. You can include copies of certificates, photos, and references from people like school Principals, Social Workers, the children, whānau, or community leaders.

What happens after I submit a nomination?

A selection panel made up of representatives from NGOs and Caring Families Aotearoa will read all nominations and meet to choose the award recipients.

Once award recipients have been selected, you will be called to let you know if your nomination has been successful.

Unsuccessful nominees will still be acknowledged to ensure they are recognised for their nomination and positive contribution.

What happens if my nomination is successful?

If your nomination is successful we will first contact the caregiver and tell them the great news. Once we have contacted them we will give you a call.

Recipients of the awards will travel to Wellington for the awards ceremony to be celebrated.  Award recipients, if not a couple, are able to bring a support person with them. We will meet their travel and accommodation costs.

What happens if my nomination is not successful?

The intent of these awards is to recognise outstanding caregivers. All nominees will receive a letter or recognition and a small gift in appreciation of their contribution.

You are able to nominate the same caregiver(s) next year.

I need help with my nomination. Who can I ask?

We’re here to help, so contact us at: events@caringfamilies.org.nz 

or 0800 693 323 for help with the nomination process.

2022 Excellence in Foster Care Awards Gallery